HOME    Prizes&Awards    IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize 2017

IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize 2017

The IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize has been established by the IUPAP and the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai (India) in 2010 to honour Homi Jehangir Bhabha, theoretical cosmic ray physicist well-known for Bhabha-Heitler Cascade theory and relativistic electron scattering. Homi Bhabha founded the TIFR in 1945 and initiated the nuclear energy program in India in 1951 with strong support from the well-known philanthropist and industrialist JRD Tata and the Government of India then led by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Homi Bhabha initiated experimental programs for the study of cosmic ray particles and their interactions with instruments either carried aloft to the top of the atmosphere with balloons or placed in laboratories at high altitude or deep underground. The Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize consists of a certificate, a medal, a cheque for INR 250,000 and an invitation to visit the TIFR, Mumbai, and the Cosmic Ray Laboratory, Ooty to give public lectures there, and will be awarded biennially at the International Cosmic Ray Conferences (ICRCs), held generally in odd numbered years.

The IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize will be awarded to an active scientist who has made distinguished contributions in the field of high energy cosmic ray physics and astro-particle physics over an extended academic career. The winner of the prize will be selected by the members of the C4 Commission and a senior member of the cosmic ray group at TIFR nominated by the Director, TIFR. The winner of the 2017 prize will be presented the prize certificate at the ICRC 2017 in BUSAN, SOUTH KOREA, in July 2017 and invited to visit India at a mutually convenient time sometime during the next 2 years to deliver two public lectures. The Director, TIFR will present the Homi Bhabha medal and a cheque for INR 250,000 to the winner on this occasion. The winner will be provided with reasonable travel expenses and local hospitality for the visit to TIFR, Mumbai and Cosmic Ray Laboratory, Ooty in India.

More information about the IUPAP-TIFR Homi Bhabha Medal and Prize is found at the TIFR website.

A list of the previous winners can be found at the website of the C4

The nominations for the prize to be awarded at the 35th ICRC in BUSAN, SOUTH KOREA, in July 2017, should be sent (email preferred) to Prof. dr. K.H. Kampert, Chair of the Astroparticle Physics Commission (C4) along with supporting information and letters from two co-sponsors at the following address:

Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Kampert
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Fakultät fuer Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften
Fachgruppe Physik
Gaußstr. 20
D-42097 Wuppertal

The deadline for receipt of nominations is 28 February 2017.

Self nominations will not be considered